top of page
  • gabriellakaren3

Week 5

Updated: Apr 11, 2019

'Image Making'


Different from drawing, in photos, we can actually communicate the spatial proportions of a design, communicate the mood and feeling of a space, creating a scene and tell a story about the space.


Class Activities


In here, I experimented with different kinds of lighting to capture various types of mood, atmosphere and ambiance of the spatial model. Those lighting include natural light, colored light and filtered light.



After understanding the lighting effect, I was then experimenting to capture varied photos of the diorama model taken from different points of view in which it could also determine the scale of the model.


For the first image, my aim there is to exclude anything that may be used to give scale to my diorama, this includes the horizon lines, tables, chairs, shadows, etc. For the second image and third image, I photographed the diorama from two different vantage points to shift the perceived scale of the model.



The next picture I took represents the human point of view.

In this picture, I introduced a background in such a way that it maintained the scale of the model. I tried to make it as seamless as possible between model and the background so that it looked exactly like one defined space

For the next activity, I used the VSCO app to experiment with the image editing, I tried it with various types of exposure, contrast, clarity, saturation, tone, etc.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page