top of page
  • gabriellakaren3

Week 4

Homework


Diorama~

In this diorama, I used 3 aspects of elements from earlier to make a final spatial model. Those three aspects I used were the transforming sound, the alternating black and white color and the symmetrical zooming space. I decided to combine the alternating black and white color with the zooming perspective to capture its effect in exaggerating the recession in which it helped to create the path looked much longer than it actually was. Then I also inserted the transforming sound effect to the space as I noticed that almost in every area of the exhibition, they always played sound instruments in order to emphasize the atmosphere they were trying to achieve within the gallery spaces. Then, in order to complement the shape of the zooming space, I modified the form of the transforming sound model to look similar with the structure pattern of the zooming space. I also embedded Escher's work at the side of the cover as we all knew that this exhibition is built based on the inspiration of Escher's idea which then evolved into physical 3D artworks.

Finally all these components were combined into one big figure that possessed house-shaped form as we knew this house-shaped motif played an important part in this exhibition and it was used almost in every of Nendo's works.





From this week's lesson I learnt a lot in how to apply and translate idea or proposition which can't simply illustrated in drawing into a 3D model as well as understanding the way of how I could describe moments and experience I've had into those models. It was obviously something I've never thought and done before but with lots of experimentation and exploration I've managed to do it.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page