top of page
  • gabriellakaren3

Week 5

Drawing a Day



In this image I did little sketches about my observation of varied textures.

Same as the drawing before, in here I did it using the varied patterns.Some of the patterns are repetitious, some are geometric and some are both

In this drawing I focused more on the light and shadow within the space therefore the visualization of lines and gradation of color need to be accentuated to give a more dramatic and lively picture. I also used black and white color for this drawing as I wanted to establish a dialogue between light, shadows, and lines only. In two- dimensional artworks, the use of shading can help to give a shape the illusion of mass or volume, it will also give the entire composition a sense of lighting. For this drawing, I use high contrast shading which refers to the placing of lighter areas directly against much darker ones, so their difference is showcased, creating a dramatic effect which I am looking for.

In this drawing, I sketched a layout of sidewalk cafes. I wanted to focus more on the lines, patterns, and textures of the building. Therefore instead of using varied color, I made it monochromatic and added pencil shading to give illusion of the three-dimensional artworks in which it made the picture more alive.

This drawing represents the interior of Bourke street’s coliseum corridor which in my opinion is the definition of a perfect style of classic street cafe. The coliseum surrounding the walls brings up an enchanting classic atmosphere, making it a perfect place for people to relax while listening to the street musical instruments played around there in which it also helps to bring out harmony into the space

In this drawing, I wanted to capture the amusing visual of a classical building. I really liked the intricate detailing of the pattern and texture of a classical building as well as the atmosphere it possessed. After observing it a little longer, I realized that classical building had unique color combination in which I found it very interesting

This is a perspective view of a private bathroom. In this drawing, I wanted to practice to draw reflections in window and mirrored surface. As this space has lots of reflective materials, I decided to use it as my model for this drawing.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page